Resources for Creating Word Lists

artic wordcloud

It seems like no matter how many speech materials I have, there are still some word lists that I have to create myself.  On occasion, I have a client with very specific and unique artic needs who needs individualized word lists created.  Enter my two favorite resources for finding words.

1) MoreWords.com is a great, FREE website for words.  You can search for words that include specific letter combinations, such as sh.  Beware, it searches by letter combinations, not by phonemes.  Once you have run a search, you can sort the list by length of word.  It would be nice if you could sort by frequency of word, because this site generates a TON of words, and the vast majority of them are not age-appropriate for my students, so I have to really search to find the good ones.  But, it is FREE, which is a big bonus.

2) If I’m in a hurry, or morewords.com doesn’t work out, I grab my copy of 40,000 Organized by Letter Sound and Syllable by Valeda Blockcolsky, M.S., CCC-SLP; Joan M. Frazer, M.S., CCC-SLP; andDouglas H. Frazer, B.A., J.D.  This book is FANTASTIC!  I don’t know how many times it’s saved my bacon!  It’s full of commonly used words sorted by letter, sound, and syllable, so you’re sure to find words you need.  The only con is that it’s a bit pricey, but if you frequently work with children with artic goals, it’s well worth the price.  It’s sold several places, but you can check out the details about it here.

Until next time,

Aersta Acerson
A Utah Speech Therapist
Leave a Reply

