Toy Story 3 Bop the Alien LCD Game

I have a little client with an extremely short attention span (what SLP doesn’t, right?), so I’ve been on the lookout for new engaging, fast, and easy games/activities I can use with him to keep him motivated and working.  I was browsing the aisles at Wal-Mart, and I came across the best little therapy game!  It’s Disney’s Toy Story 3 Bop the Alien game, and it’s everything a therapy game should be!  It’s an arcade-style game, so it’s super engaging, there’s no set-up, it’s small and portable, and each turn takes less than a minute.  I LOVE IT!

How to Play: This game is a basic hit-the-mole kind of arcade game, except instead of moles, you have the cute aliens from Toy Story 3.  To play, all you do is turn the game on to either the Timer or Points setting.  The aliens then start to light up, and the child simply pushes the alien that is lit.  Each time the child pushes a lit alien, they earn points.  The longer they play, the faster the aliens light up, so the game becomes progressively more challenging.  I like to use the game on the Timer setting because that allows the child to play for only one minute, making each turn fast and easy!  If you would like to give the child more or less time per turn, you can download your own timer app on your iPod, iPhone, or iPad.  I like the Timer Z app by Squawk Studio, LLC.  The free version only allows the use of two timers at any given time, but I find it’s plenty for therapy purposes.

The game did cost $10 at my Wal-Mart, which is pushing the limit of what I like to spend, but I think it’s worth it considering how hard it is to find really good, engaging therapy games.  What games do you use in therapy?

Until next time,

Aersta Acerson
A Utah Speech Therapist
Leave a Reply

