Treatment Tip Tuesday: DIY Token Rewards Jar

treatment tip tues

I’m sure you’ve all heard of or used the Token Towers from Super Duper.  These things are awesome!  For some reason I have yet to figure out, kids love working for tokens to fill up their tower.  It’s got to be the easiest motivational tool in a Speech Therapist’s arsenal.  But the cost!  Yikes!  I don’t know about you, but I have a HARD time shelling out $29.95 for four plastic tubes and a 100 foam smiley faces.  My budget is way too tight for that kind of extravagance.  So, I decided to DIY my own token rewards jar!  And it was super cheap and easy!  I simply found some super cute plastic tokens from Zurchers party store for $3.99.  This store is AWESOME and it’s my new go-to for my treasure box.  Anyway, these plastic tokens are great because they are a bunch of different, cute colors that are highly motivating to my students.  I then took a glass jar (mine was an old jam jar), put a couple of marks on it with a magic marker, and voila!  My own token jar!  One of my students had a fantastic time finding the tokens underneath his articulation cards.  He was excited to see how high he could fill the jar.  Success!

Oh, and this isn’t just for Speech Therapists.  Parents, you can do this at home too!  I know this sounds sooo simple and it’s nearly impossible to believe that kids will go for it, but trust me, they do!  You can create your own token jar and randomly pull it out as a reward incentive for your kids for homework, chores, etc.  You’ll be amazed at the results!

IMG_9522

Until next time,

Aersta Acerson
A Utah Speech Therapist
Leave a Reply

